The Afternoon Blouse

My newest handmade addition to my fall wardrobe is The Afternoon Blouse I made using a pale pink linen blend fabric. Leonardo da Vinci’s quote, “Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication” brilliantly describes this pattern by Jennifer Lauren Handmade. It is a very simple pattern but the unique neckline option takes this blouse to a whole different level.

IMG_4253

The Pattern and Instructions – This pattern gives two options: a blouse version with two neckline variations and the dress version with two variations (and yes, the dress version has pockets!). I’m a sucker for patterns that have as few pattern pieces as possible especially PDF patterns so this definitely gets into my good books. It is great for sewers of all levels and such a great addition to the closet. The instructions and illustrations were very easy to follow. The instructions also state the corresponding pages of each view, allowing you to print only the view you plan to make. I think this is genius!

IMG_4208

The Fit and Construction – The fit of the blouse was spot on due to the kimono sleeve feature which tends to fit most people. The afternoon blouse simply did not need any changes to be made. I under-stitched the neckline instead of topstitching it. That was the only change I made and was simply personal preference. I cut based on the size chart in the instructions and it fit great which was a pleasant surprise. For most patterns, I have to make some adjustments but this pattern was an exception.

fullsizeoutput_34ae

The choice of fabric can change the look of the blouse. Medium weight fabrics such as my linen choice gives it a crisper look. If I had chosen a light weight fabric such as rayon, I feel it would have had more drape and given it a softer look. It is a great blouse whether worn tucked in or not. Overall, I feel that the blouse gives a clean and simple finish to any outfit.

IMG_4251

Additional Highlights and tips: I love multi-sized patterns. This pattern ranges from 6 to 24 with both imperial and metric measurements! What else can I ask for? I have one tip… Iron after each step. It makes all the difference. If you have made the Afternoon blouse or dress or plan to do so, I would love to hear about it. 🙂

IMG_4277

Sylvia

The Ravel Out

XOXO

 

One thought on “The Afternoon Blouse

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑